A Flowery Jumper for Baby Grace.

I have come to the conclusion, that I spend more time looking for patterns… than I actually do making the item! I get a set image in my mind and spend hours looking for a pattern that matches that image. Which…. is a very silly thing to do!

So what do you do?….. you make it up as you go along… obviously.

I started from the top, making a long chain, increasing at four individual points to make it form the jumper-like shape. I am sure there must be some word for that method, but I have no idea what it is. (Please tell me if you know).

dscn7436

I was originally going to have it as a cardigan, but half way through got bored and joined up the two ends…. turning into a jumper. After a few rows of nothing but half double crochet (hdc) I got bored yet again and decided to get creative.

I went online in search of a pretty stitch I could use to create a border and found a stitch that looked like a row of flowers. I now can’t find the tutorial I used… or even remember how I done the stitch. If I can rediscover the tutorial I will link it!….

dscn7437
Pretty little flower stitch!

I got a little bit carried away on the arms and ended up making the first one rather long…. so I just made the second one long as well and folded it over… which I think looks rather adorable anyway.

When I finished I thought the neck bit looked a little boring. The solution? A pretty little collar!… I’m a little obsessed with collars. I just done a couple rows of half double crochet around the neck line and finished it off with a wavy border.

The outcome.. a pretty flowery jumper for a 0-3 month old.

What did I learn?

Randomly making up a pattern as you go along… actually takes longer than looking for a pattern which doesn’t exist.

Next time, I should draw up a design and brief instructions before starting on the project. I should also write what I’m doing so I can replicate the same pattern again! I should….. but… knowing me I probably wont.

 

Leave a comment